Nov 15, 2009

Four Corners,USA

The Four Corners is a region in the United States consisting of southwest Colorado, northwest New Mexico, northeast Arizona and southeast Utah. The boundaries of the four states listed above meet at one point.This is only such geographic point in the entire United States.

Four Corners was acquired by United States from Mexico after the Mexican American War in 1848. This area was first surveyed by the U.S. Government in 1868.The first marker was placed at the spot in 1912.

Four Corners Area is generally defined as a circle around the Four Corners Monument located at 36°59′56.31532″N 109°02′42.62019″W. However there were few controversies over the exact geographical position of this 'Four Corners'.

A large metal circle has been placed at the intersection of this 'Four Corners'. Visitors standing at this point are just One Foot  away from each state.

The Four Corners is part of a high Colorado Plateau. This makes the area a center for weather systems.This weather system creates snow and rain fall over the central United States.

Interstate 40 passes along the southern edge of the Four Corners region. Other Highways include  U.S. Route 64, U.S. Route 160,U.S. Route 163, U.S. Route 191, U.S. Route 491 and U.S. Route 550.

Blogger Templates
Blogger Templates
6:57 AM / Posted by Sparkling Star /

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More
Read Comments

0 Response to "Four Corners,USA"